Broiled Chicken Thighs, Artichokes, and Lemon-Parmesan Couscous

This is a restaurant quality meal with little prep and easy clean up. Most of the ingredients are probably things you have on hand, and cooking everything under the broiler means it is start to finish in less than 25 minutes. So, here’s the deal. If you are not cooking with natural or organic chicken thighs, it is time to start! They are relatively inexpensive, moist, succulent, and super kid friendly! Dark chicken meat is higher in iron and B vitamins than white, and still has less fat than beef. By using a natural or organic version, you will keep your family safe from the dangerous hormones and antibiotics found in many conventional brands. Artichokes are a natural way to detoxify the liver, and are high in potassium, fiber, and iron. Serving the chicken and vegetables on a bed of whole wheat, lemon-parmesan couscous is a great immunity boosting way to round out the meal, add a bit of bone-building calcium, and bring great depth to the flavors. Please email healthnutfoodie@gmail.com for a printer friendly and more detailed version of this recipe. Happy eating!
Ingredients (Serves 2):
Boneless, skinless chicken thighs, 4 (about 12 ounces total)
Marinated artichoke hearts, one 12-ounce jar, drained
Cherry tomatoes, 8 – 10
Extra virgin olive oil, 1 tbsp + 1 tbsp
Whole wheat couscous, 2/3 cup
Organic chicken broth, 2/3 cup
Parmesan-reggiano, 1/4 cup
Lemon zest, from one lemon
Flat leaf parsley, 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
Sea salt, 1/2 tsp + 1/4 tsp
Fresh ground black pepper, 1/4 tsp + 1/4 tsp
Prep and Instructions (25 minutes):
Preheat broiler for about 10 minutes. While broiler heats, drain artichokes and chop 1/4 cup flat leaf parsley. Drizzle 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil over chicken thighs. Season with 1/2 tsp sea salt and 1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper. Place chicken thighs and artichokes on broiler pan and broil for 6 minutes. Turn chicken thighs and add tomatoes to broiler pan. Broil 6 minutes more.
Meanwhile, bring 2/3 cup chicken broth just to a boil. Remove from heat, stir in couscous, and cover with lid. After 5 minutes, fluff couscous with a fork. Stir in parmesan-reggiano, lemon zest, 1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, and 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil. Season with 1/4 tsp each sea salt and black pepper.
Place a bed of couscous on each plate. Top with divided chicken thighs, artichokes, and tomatoes. Garnish with reserved parsley. Serve and enjoy!
Notes: This is the perfect amount of food for 2 adults. Feel free to double it for a larger family. If you are 2 adults and a toddler, just throw a few extra tomatoes and additional chicken thigh under the broiler. Annie thought this meal was great! To keep the mess to a minimum, I mix her couscous with a bit of plain yogurt.

6 responses to “Broiled Chicken Thighs, Artichokes, and Lemon-Parmesan Couscous

  1. Hi! I just found your blog, and let me just say that I LOVE it! I'm so thankful that you have recipes for my WHOLE family, including my infant!! I am a District Manager with Arbonne and listened to you on our call. Thank you sooo much! My husband and I also own a personal training studio, and I'm so excited to have another GREAT resource to share with our clients. I made this recipe last night (along with the Chocolate Raspberry Torte) for our Valentine's Day dinner. We all LOVED it!! May I put in a personal request for more quick and healthy dinners like this? It's my biggest struggle with (almost) 4 children 4 years and under! I had two sick kids and a doctor's appointment, and still managed to start dinner at 6:15 and serve it at 6:45!! Thank you!!

  2. Thanks Kristina! I would love to connect with you off of the website! I've recently decided that I want to become a certified personal trainer and I've been chatting with people about the best way to go about it! I would love your thoughts! You can email me at katie AT healthnutfoodie DOT com. Thanks!

  3. Kristina- By the way, I will totally be trying some more broiler/super quick recipes! If you like chicken salad, you should try my southwest hummus chicken salad. It takes 5 minutes and my little girls and husband both love it!

  4. This is about the fifth recipe I've tried from your blog and everyone has been a hit! This is a total keeper. Thanks!

  5. Anonymous — Thank you SO MUCH for the kind words! This recipe is one of only four that are also in my book! It was so tasty and easy, I thought it needed to be featured both places! Happy Monday!

Leave a comment